Music to my ears

I Can Hear the Music

“Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.”

 

If you spend any time with me, it is pretty easy to figure out that music is an important part of my life. I hate driving without music, I carry my iPod (yes an actual iPod not just my phone) with me everywhere, and despite being well past my high school years, I still identify as a band geek. Whether I need to pump myself up, calm myself down, or create background noise for better focus, music is my go to. I even tailor my playlists to specific times and activities. Playlists for running are designed to keep me on pace or change it up to make it tougher, work playlists are often a little more chill and sometimes only instrumental. Classical is awesome for studying and of course I have my pumped up, loud playlists for getting ready or cleaning the house. It is still amazing to me even after all of the time I have spent around music the impact that it can have. Music can be empowering, calming, thrilling, comforting; and the impact of the same piece of music can differ greatly person to person. It can suck you in or transport you to a different time or place. I for one am someone who becomes totally absorbed by seeing the symphony live. I have been told that I don’t move for the duration of the entire piece. I can’t say for sure that I don’t move, but I do often become mesmerized by watching the instrumentalists play and allowing my mind to wander with the music.  Other shows have sucked me in with songs that remind me of a person, time, or even a dream. I recently had the opportunity to see The Piano Guys live (I highly recommend them) and it was incredible how even the songs that I had heard from them before completely pulled me in. It is not just live music either; there are songs that as soon as I hear them there is a memory or feeling that is triggered. There are other times when a particular genre is exactly what I need to put myself in the appropriate mindset. When it comes to keeping things balanced, music is an important tool in my kit.

Recently, my musical needs have been rather eclectic. I’ve been super busy at work and thus been hooked on Pandora stations like Lindsey Stirling and The Piano Guys that provide a nice soundtrack without being distracting. On the contrary, when I get home and need motivation to get my butt into gear for a workout, I’ve been blasting songs like Demi Lovato’s “Confident,” finding that a pumped up beat with catchy lyrics is what I need to push through. I may be tired, but I know I will feel better after a workout.

As confident and determined as that sounds, I have to admit that the past two weeks have been draining. It took me several days to recover from San Diego and the red eye flight back; days that were filled with big projects at work, trying to stay on top of Accounting, and getting the everyday chores and responsibilities out of the way. I also agreed to participate in the Tone It Up Bikini Series with a group of friends and I have found that combining my Blogilates schedule with the Bikini Series is tough. This is not helped by how busy I have been this week, making me feel rushed through my workouts so I can get everything done. Weeks like this are where the importance of balance are emphasized. I fell out of balance last week, not getting enough sleep and stressing about work and my Accounting final. I needed a little time to reset. Luckily, I was able to play golf both Sunday and Monday and while I was working and studying I kept a steady stream of good music pumping through my headphones. I can see the light at the end of these crazy few weeks. My Accounting final is tomorrow and while work is still hectic, a few big speed bumps seem to be disappearing. Life is good.

 

I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend. Let me know what makes up the soundtrack to your life!

 

 

Friday Highlights

Sleep: 7ish Hours

Work: 8 Hours

Study: 1.5 Hours

Workout: Tone It Up Daily 5, 2.5 mile run, walk the stairs at work (16 flights), Blogilates Stretching

Current Soundtrack: The Piano Guys Pandora station

 

Leave a Reply

