Tomatoes and Basil - healthy eating

Brain Food – 3 Quick, Healthy Recipes for Students on the Go

Eating healthy: a goal of many with good intentions that is often a causality of busy schedules.

When we were in undergrad, most of us maintained a diet with a large dose of pizza, chicken strips, Easy Mac, and fast food. This is partially because all of these were readily available and didn’t require us to cook (especially when you lived in a dorm), but also because at that age food choices often seem like they’ll never catch up to you.  Fast forward a few years and many find that this is in fact not the case. Eating pizza four nights a week may be easy and lets be honest delicious, but it does you no favors in maintaining a healthy lifestyle. As we get older, the importance of a healthy lifestyle becomes more apparent, but our busy schedules can make it difficult to translate good intentions into action, particularly when it comes to food. Long days at the office followed by hours of class time or grad school homework make a quick stop at Qdoba or the frozen food section of the store much more appealing than spending time cooking. Even for someone like me who loves to cook, a quick fix is sometimes a necessity. Luckily, there are plenty of recipes out there that are quick, easy, and healthy. These are a few of my favorites that I regularly make.

 

  1. Breakfast – Honey Vanilla Granola with Greek Yogurt – Found on Pinterest c/o Southern In Law homemade honey vanilla granola
    • Tasty and versatile, granola is great with milk, on top of yogurt, or as a snack on the go. I like this recipe because it’s sweet from the honey but doesn’t add much extra sugar. The recipe doesn’t call for it, but it is also good if you add some cinnamon to it.
    • Cook Time – 45-55 min including prep depending on your oven and how crunchy you like your granola
  2. Lunch – Quinoa Bowls – Katherine’s ownHealthy Living Meal Prep
    • Quinoa has gotten attention in the last couple years as a “supergrain,” full of fiber and protein. I can’t speak to its status as a superfood, but I can say it makes a great base for a tasty meal. I like to make a couple bowls during meal prep on Sundays to use throughout the week. Two of my favorites are an asian inspired chicken and broccoli and my own take on a Qdoba burrito bowl. The quinoa takes 15-20 minutes to cook, giving me time to cook my veggies and meat. For the asian twist, I add garlic, broccoli, and mushrooms with soy sauce to a skillet and cook until soft. I generally add the garlic and broccoli first and then add the mushrooms and soy sauce since the broccoli takes longer to cook. For the last few minutes I will add the chicken so it soaks up some soy sauce. That mixture is added on top of the portioned out quinoa and then topped with some sesame seeds and additional soy sauce to taste. This is a great dish to make on meal prep days as it reheats well and keeps for a few days in the fridge.
    • Cook Time – 25 minutes including prep
  3. Dinner  – Caprese Chicken Bake – Found on Pinterest c/o The Novice Chefcaprese chicken
    • This has become a favorite at my house. Healthy and delicious, this meal is ready in under a half hour and makes for great leftovers. I’ve stuck pretty closely to the recipe created by The Novice Chef, but instead of cooking the chicken in the skillet I prefer to bake it at 400° for 20 minutes. I start the tomato basil skillet with about 10 minutes left on the oven timer and then add the chicken to the same skillet to melt the cheese. Don’t forget to drizzle the baslsamic vinegar on top, it really makes the dish.
    • Cook Time – 30 minutes

 

Be sure to check back for more healthy options as well as some fun treats. I’ll be sharing recipes I find as well as the ones I make up. If you have a go to recipe let me know! I love trying new recipes!

 

Best,

Katherine

Leave a Reply

