First Day of School

Reporting for Duty: No Longer MIA

I’m here, I’m alive! I did not fall off the face of the earth, just the face of the blogosphere. The last month has been a whirlwind of school and work which left little time and even less energy to dedicate to writing. I won’t go into all of the details, because that would be a very long blog post, but here is a quick recap of the last month:

Grad School

  • 97% on my Corporate Finance midterm; was pretty excited about that. Followed it up with a 96% on the final and high scores on all of the group cases. Final grade: A. My 4.0 status is safe for now.
  • Inbound Marketing – 4 week course that technically started this week. The class material has been posted since September though so I have been slowly chipping away at it. The class applies directly to what I do on a daily basis so it is interesting, but also not too challenging. It is however, time consuming. There are two HubSpot certifications to complete, 3 blog posts to write,  a website consultation, and nearly 100 lecture videos to watch.
  • Class Scheduling – I am down to 4 classes before I complete my program. It is an exciting feeling. I will be cranking out 3 of those 4 classes in the winter semester; one 4 week class in January and two full classes that start in February. With any luck, I will be a MBA graduate by the end of next summer. The next few months will be one heck of a ride.

Work LifeI love Tacos Dallas

  • Made my first trip to Texas to visit my company’s Dallas office. It is a very cool city, and I was able to catch up with a friend from undergrad who is from there. I’d like to go back and explore the city more. My team was amazed at how many restaurants there were. We walked from Uptown back to our hotel in the business district and 90% of the storefronts were restaurants. We of course, did not eat at the same place twice for the duration of the trip.
  • Two days home after Dallas and then it was off to San Francisco to speak at my first conference! My panel was all about the value of consumer insights and how to use them to develop strategy. For those not in marketing or data, probably not the most interesting talk, but I received a lot of great feedback. The conference as a whole was well done, with speakers from all different industries and experience levels. There were even some fun keynote speakers with Ayesha Curry and stylist Jeannie Mai. I had major shoe envy when Ayesha walked on stage. Brian Solis, who I have seen at every conference I have been to this year, also made an appearance. NetBase was awesome enough to gift us copies of Brian’s latest book that I can’t wait to dig into. That wasn’t the only book I came home with; I won a golden ticket for a signed copy of Ayesha’s cook book. New recipe adventures will likely appear on the blog soon! It was a great trip, with a well done conference and some extra time to catch up with friends on the west coast.

Vacation

  • It was a crazy few weeks, but I was able to squeeze in some fun and visit my sister in Charleston for Halloween. She started law school there this year and it was great to see her new home (and lie on a beach at the end of October).
  • One last bit of fun before the grind of this 4 week class kicked in; my dad and I took one final sail last weekend down the Detroit River. It was a little chilly (56 air temp), but we had great wind and a clear sunny day that seemed out of place in Michigan at this time of year.Sailing Detroit Detroit River

Now, it’s on to several hours of Inbound Marketing for me. I am a week ahead of the class schedule and I intend to keep it that way.

 

Best,

Katherine

Leave a Reply

